Luxulyan Parish Council **DRAFT** Minutes The ANNUAL MEETING OF THE PARISH COUNCIL Thursday 12 May 2022 at 6.15 pm, Luxulyan Memorial Institute

PRESENT:

Cllr Michaela Linfoot (Chair), Cllr Keith Bilston (Vice-chair), Cllr Dan Cordy, Cllr Helen Francis, Cllr Michael Grindley, Cllr Margaret Higman, Cllr Sarah Kemp, Cllr Francis Payne, Cllr Carl Tonkin.

ALSO PRESENT:

Clerk to the Parish, Mrs Christine Wilson, Lockengate Ward Member Cllr Peter Guest, Luxulyan Ward Member Cllr Colin Martin, and no Members of the Public.

ABSENT:

Cllr Bob Hatton.

ABBREVIATIONS:

Councillors are abbreviated with their initials; Luxulyan Parish Council (LPC), Cornwall Council (CC), Cornwall Assoc. of Local Councils (CALC), Footpath (FP), *** indicates the Consultee Comments submitted to the Planning Authority; the general points are proposed and decided by LPC; formal submission is delegated to the Clerk.

MINUTES:

The meeting began at 6.15 PM and the Chair welcomed all.

22/1 Election of the Chair

Cllr Michaela Linfoot was **ELECTED** Chair and signed her Declaration of Acceptance of Office before the council.

22/2 Election of the Vice-chair

Cllr Keith Bilston was **ELECTED** Vice-chair and signed his Declaration of Acceptance of Office before the council.

22/3 Apologies for absence.

BH sent his apologies. MG arrived after 22/11 and apologised for arriving late.

22/4 Finance.

- A **Responsible Financial Officer**. It was RESOLVED to appoint the clerk and proper officer of the council, Mrs Christine Wilson.
- B **Audit Panel**. This panel closely scrutinises the accounts and makes recommendations to full council regarding the budget, precept, and other financial matters. It was RESOLVED to appoint Councillors Francis Payne, Keith Bilston, Margaret Higman and Michaela Linfoot.
- C **Chair of the Audit Panel**. It was RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Keith Bilston as chair of the Audit Panel.
- D Internal Control Check. This person must not be a bank signatory, must be a member of the Audit Panel and will make quarterly checks of bank statements and payments. It was RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Margaret Higman as Internal Control Check.
- E **Bank Mandate**. LPC banks with Unity Trust Bank. Two signatories are required for payments by cheque or for online payments. It is **CONFIRMED** that Cllr Francis Payne, Cllr Margaret Higman, Cllr Michael Grindley and the Clerk are bank signatories.

F **Transparency Code for Smaller Councils**. The Council RESOLVED (proposed SK, 2nd ML) to continue its voluntary compliance with the Code.

22/5 Staffing Committee.

- A The council RESOLVED to appoint these members to the Staffing Committee: Cllr Keith Bilston, Cllr Michaela Linfoot, Cllr Dan Cordy, Cllr Carl Tonkin.
- B It was RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Keith Bilston as Chair of the Staffing Committee.

22/6 Planning Working Party

It was RESOLVED to disband the Planning Working Party (proposed ML, 2nd KB) which has not attracted members of the public to participate, as was originally intended. As has been the case for some time, planning site visits for all councillors will be arranged when needed.

22/7 Risk Assessment Working Party

The council RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Michael Grindley, Cllr Sarah Kemp and the Clerk to the Risk Assessment Working Party. All risk assessments will be approved at full council.

22/8 Projects Working Party

The council RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Helen Francis, Cllr Francis Payne and Cllr Sarah Kemp to the Projects Working Party. They will consider future parish council projects.

22/9 Trustees for the Luxulyan Memorial Institute

In accordance with the LMI constitution which allows four parish council trustees, it was RESOLVED to appoint Councillors Keith Bilston, Michaela Linfoot, Carl Tonkin and Dan Cordy as trustees.

22/10 Luxulyan Parish Community Fund

The council RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Helen Francis and Cllr Sarah Kemp to the Panel of the Luxulyan Parish Community Fund. The clerk will contact the secretary of the LPCF to update the webpage on the parish council website.

22/11 Appointment of Lead Councillors and Representatives

- A **Footpath Committee**. The council RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Helen Francis as LPC representative on the Luxulyan Footpath Committee, which is formed by residents of the parish.
- **B** Community Network Panels
 - St Blazey, Fowey & Lostwithiel Community Network Panel. (This includes: Luxulyan, Lanlivery, Lostwithiel, St Winnow, Braddock, Boconnoc, St Veep, St Sampson, Tywardreath & Par, Fowey, St Blaise)
 The council RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Michaela Linfoot and Cllr Keith Bilston as parish council representatives on the Community Network Panel. LPC has one vote. The
 - ii. China Clay Community Network Panel. (Treverbyn, Roche, St Dennis, St Enoder, St Stephen-in-Brannel) In the past LPC has attended these meetings, but LPC is not a member of the China Clay CNP and does not have a vote. It was **AGREED** to no longer send an LPC representative. Ward Member Guest sits on the Panel and promised to keep LPC abreast of issues that may affect the parish.

meetings are open to the public, but the members of the public may not vote.

- C Eden Community Geothermal Liaison Group (up to 2 representatives). It was RESOLVED that Cllr Michael Grindly will be Lead Councillor representing the parish council at these meetings. The second position is **DEFERRED** until Cllr Bob Hatton is present.
- D **CALC** (Cornwall Assoc of Local Councils). It was RESOLVED that Cllr Michaela Linfoot, and Cllr Keith Bilston as substitute, will represent LPC with CALC.
- E **Luxulyan Valley Management Partnership**. It was RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Michaela Linfoot, with Cllr Carl Tonkin as substitute, to represent LPC on the reorganised Valley Partnership Committee.
- F **Luxulyan Community Land Trust** (up to 2 representatives). The council RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Michael Grindley and Cllr Francis Payne as parish council representatives on the Luxulyan CLT.
- G **Councillor Advocate Scheme**, organised by the Office of the Police & Crime Commissioner. It was RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Michaela Linfoot as LPC representative for the Councillor Advocate Scheme.
- H Village Hall Committee. It was RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Margaret Higman to the Village Hall Committee.

Cllr Michael Grindley arrived at the meeting.

22/12 Communication

- A The clerk reviewed the email addresses for the councillors and there were no changes. MG and SK no longer require agendas and minutes by post.
- Notice Boards. It was AGREED that Cllr Francis Payne will post on the Luxulyan village notice board on the wall of the public toilets; he may ask Cllr Bob Hatton if he is not here. Cllr Helen Francis will post on the Lockengate notice board, currently on the side of a house facing the A391, but soon the notice board will be moved to the bus shelter. ML will have a key copied for HF.

22/13 Dates and times of the meetings for the next municipal year.

- A **Ordinary Meetings of the Parish Council** It was RESOLVED that the council will continue holding the ordinary meetings on the second Thursday of each month at 6.00 pm in the Luxulyan Memorial Institute.
- B **Finance Audit Panel** with Internal Control Checks It was RESOLVED to hold quarterly meetings of the Audit Panel in July, October, January and April, at 5.00 pm before the ordinary meeting unless otherwise agreed.
- C **Staffing Committee**. It was RESOLVED that the Staffing Committee will meet in September after the clerk's annual appraisal, and as and when required.
- D The next Annual Meeting of the Parish Council will be Thursday, 11th May 2023.

The meeting closed at 7.30 pm. The Ordinary Meeting followed immediately.

Mrs C Wilson ~ Parish Clerk ~ 18 May 2022

SIGNED:		
THESE ARE DRAFT MINUTES.		
Chair:	Date:	